The purpose of the Spartan Alumni Committee is to help reconnect, re-establish and build relationships between the Spartan alumni as well as between the current athletes and alumni. Our goal is to develop a consistent, effective and sustainable Spartan Alumni program together with the varsity coach athletic staff, and TWU alumni department. The committee is made up of eight (8) Spartan alumni sport coordinators / representatives and also includes some general alumni reps: Gary Lutes (TWU Grad ’89 – MVB), Rob Thomson (TWU Grad ’97 – MSOC/Rugby), Steve Scholz (TWU Grad ’90 – MSOC; Spartan Foundation Rep, andJulie Ratzlaff  (TWU Grad ’95 – WBB; TWU Athletics rep/Team Lead).  There is one sport coordinator for each current varsity sport and for previous varsity sports:

  • Men’s Soccer – TBA (position currently open)
  • Women’s Soccer – Angela Gahan (Trauter) (2006)
  • Men’s Basketball – Lance Verhoeff (2011)
  • Women’s Basketball – Corina Reimer (2011) & Stephanie Mason (1991-1994)
  • Men’s Volleyball – Aaron VandenBrink (2010); Jarrod Offereins (2013); Marc Howatson (2012)
  • Women’s Volleyball – Dayna Doerksen; Saralyn Stell
  • Track & Field – Ivonne Zuniga Padilla (2015)
  • Men’s Hockey – TBA (position currently open)

These Sport Coordinators will recruit various “Sport ERA” coordinators in order to have representation from all the “era’s” of Spartan history. In turn, this group strategizes and coordinates alumni events and helps communicate Spartan Foundation and Spartan Athletic news and information.

Check out what one of our alumni is doing now: Jason Keegstra

Group Sweater

Induction Ceremony April 2017